Post-military life

Refine Evolve
2 min readSep 14, 2018

--

Image from usmhaf.org

This is my post-military life.

There are many like it, but this one is mine.

For example, I am not a Marine but,

I understand the meaning of always faithful,

as well as mastery of one’s life and enemies.

Image from woundedwarriorproject.org

This is my post-military life.

I would have liked to have had this later.

But, due to circumstances beyond my capacity,

Physical, mental and spiritual,

it had to be now.

Image from VFW.org

This is my post-military life.

The first month was heaven.

The next two took me to limbo.

And currently, it feels like Purgatory.

Other people call it Unemployment.

Image from usveteransmagazine.com

This is my post-military life.

I traded security for freedom.

Swapped paychecks for pensions.

Bartered bustle for tedium.

But what did I switch for what?

Image from Mission22.com

This is my post-military life.

Unable to sell my past.

Uncertain of my future.

Unsettled about the present.

Undaunted nonetheless.

--

--